Big News… Pandora: First Contact!

Pandora: First Contact is a science fiction 4X turn-based strategy game on a planetary scale. Our Earth has been exhausted and colonial attempts on other planetary bodies have been in vain. Finally, after decades of exploration, an interstellar probe has brought promise of a new world many light-years away.

Don your favorite conqueror’s garb, it’s time to take over the world.

Gameplay
Pandora is a 4X strategy game, meaning you must do many things to be able to survive. You raise your civilization, er sorry, faction to various heights in order to protect it from other factions and the native aliens.

I know I usually use an in game screenshot, but this main menu is beautiful.
I know I usually use an in game screenshot, but this main menu is beautiful.

The game uses a randomized research hub to detail what you want to learn first. It is randomized each playthrough with certain technologies locked to certain tiers. It makes it both fun and annoying as some technologies should always be amongst the first in my opinion, such as Colony Ship dismantling.

The AI itself is also overpowered. I have yet to achieve a single victory above easy. The first tier and a half of research, I’m ahead in economy, military and research, but after that, everyone surpasses me almost instantly.

Bugs
I do have one bug that I’ve noticed. Water does not render properly on my machine. I’ve written to the developers to try to get a fix, though it could be my outdated graphics card. Everything else in the game renders properly for me.

The aforementioned bug.
The aforementioned bug.

Overall, I would give Pandora: First Contact an undercooked Grilled Cheese rating. It’s almost that wonderful little piece of perfection, however the difficult AI makes it hard to give a better rating. If you love games like Civilization, Pandora should be right up your alley.

Pandora: First Contact can be purchased from the following locations:
http://www.matrixgames.com/products/435/details/Pandora:.First.Contact
http://store.steampowered.com/app/287580/

Leave a Reply

