Big News… Armed Seven!

20160516104424_1

The year is 1989. 12 years have passed since the Gogoh Army’s invasion of Earth. Exposure to alien technology during the war enabled Earth’s own technologies to take massive leaps forward. International conflict that was previously rife in the history of mankind fell to an all-time low, and the Earth Federation was established as a unified Earth government. The stage was set for an era of unprecedented prosperity.

Just turn on the Robotech opening for this review. No joke here, just do it.

Gameplay
Armed Seven is a side-scrolling shooter with the same controls as Gigantic Army. Not really surprising here, as it is the same developer. To recap, you navigate with the arrow keys and Z/X for your action keys. The game is surprisingly hard without being much of a bullet hell. It has deceptively few enemies and bullets, each preferring armor and accuracy over filling the screen with bullets.

20160515181311_1
Most of those bullets on screen are mine. I choose a spreasdshot loadout.

Art
The art style in this game is reminiscent of PS1 era sidescrolling shooters. It’s a very clean art style while still having a “retro” feel to it. I’m also aware it is reminiscent of arcade cabinets from a few years before that, but I am American, meaning I didn’t get to play those.

20160516104036_1
I’m having a shell of a good time.

Music
I absolutely love the soundtrack to this game. It’s got that heavy old school military game beat and it fits the theme of the game very well. I’ll just link the trailer here so you can get a taste for yourself.

Bugs
I haven’t really encountered any bugs in the game. I only feel the need to report a graphical glitch I found. I thought it might be an artistic choice, but it doesn’t show in my screenshots. In level 3, as the city is being leveled in the background, some of the building tops just float, looking like artifacts.

Overall, I’d give Armed Seven a buttered toast rating. It’s a really fun game, with a lot of intense arcade shooter action going on. I love all the nostalgia the game brings with it as well. If you’re looking for an old school arcade game, I highly recommend this title.

20160516111232_1

Armed Seven can be purchased from the following locations:
http://armedseven.com/purchasehttp://store.steampowered.com/app/349690

Leave a Reply

